News

Album of the Week: Shojo Winter - Somewhere Else


Shojo Winter are a gloomy trio from Hemet, CA that blur the lines between shoegaze, post-punk and darkwave. Their latest release, Somewhere Else, feels like a storm slowly approaching overhead and blends hushed vocals with thunderous drums, pulsing basslines and droning, washy layers of guitar.

The band's next LA show will be with the wonderful Cruelty Code, Toner and OCD at Timewarp Records. More info can be found here.



Foster Body Announce 'Moving Display'

Photo Credit: Jake Gatenby
Salt Lake City's Foster Body will be releasing their sophomore album, Moving Display, on March 25. Moving Display will be the first release from Diabolical Records, and can currently be pre-ordered here. A video for the album's fantastic lead track, "Touching & Moving," can be viewed below.

DIIV Release "Is The Is Are," Announce Live Residencies

Photo Credit: Sandy Kim
DIIV have released the title track off their upcoming album, Is The Is Are, which will be out February 5 via Captured Tracks. Stream it below. The band have also announced three live residencies in support of the album, which will take place in Los Angeles, San Francisco and New York throughout February and March.




Is The Is Are Residencies
2/22-24 - Los Angeles @ The Echo
2/27 - San Francisco @ Brick and Mortar
2/28 - San Francisco @ The Independent
3/3-5 - New York @ Market Hotel

Additional Tour Dates
01/30 Singapore, SG - Laneway Festival
02/01 Auckland, NZ - Laneway Festival
02/05 Adelaide, AUS - Laneway Festival
02/06 Brisbane, AUS - Laneway Festival
02/07 Sydney, AUS - Laneway Festival
02/09 Sydney, AUS - Factory Theatre
02/11 Melbourne, AUS - The Corner
02/13 Melbourne, AUS - Laneway Festival
02/14 Fremantle, AUS - Laneway Festival
03/18 London, UK - Heaven

Listen: Wild Nothing - "Reichpop"

Photo Credit: Shawn Brackbill

On February 19, Wild Nothing (aka Jack Tatum) will be releasing his first album in four years, Life of Pause, via Captured Tracks. Earlier this week, the gorgeous "Reichpop" was released, a track that makes heavy use of a rhythmic marimba arrangement coupled with dreamy guitar ambience and a grooving bassline. If this song and the other two previously released are any indication, the lengthy span between releases will be more than worth it. Until then, it's best to be on the edge of your seat in anticipation.



Porches Debut "Be Apart"

Photo Credit: Jessica Lehrman
Porches have debuted the second song off their upcoming album Pool, titled "Be Apart," via The Fader. The video for the song can be viewed below. Pool will be out February 5 on Domino Records, and the band will be embarking on a full US tour with Alex G and Your Friend beginning in early March. Those dates can also be found below.

Tour Dates

Wed Mar 9 || Washington, DC || Rock & Roll Hotel 
Thurs Mar 10 || Richmond, VA || Strange Matter 
Fri Mar 11 || Chapel Hill, NC || Cat's Cradle Backroom 
Sat Mar 12 || Savannah, GA || Savannah Stopover Festival 
Sun Mar 13 || Orlando, FL || Backbooth 
Mon Mar 14 || Tallahassee, FL || Club Downunder 
Wed Mar 16 || Houston, TX || Walters 
Sat Mar 19 || Dallas, TX || Spillover Music Fest 
Mon Mar 21 || Denver, CO || Lost Lake 
Tues Mar 22 || Salt Lake City, UT || Kilby Court 
Wed Mar 23 || Boise, ID || Treefort Music Fest 
Thurs Mar 24 || Portland, OR || Analog Café 
Fri Mar 25 || Seattle, WA || Vera Project 
Sat Mar 26 || Vancouver, BC || The Cobalt 
Mon Mar 28 || San Francisco, CA || Rickshaw Stop 
Tues Mar 29 || Los Angeles, CA || The Echo 
Thurs Mar 31 || Santa Ana, CA || The Observatory - Constellation Room 
Fri Apr 1 || San Diego, CA || Che Café 
Sat Apr 2 || Phoenix, AZ || Rebel Lounge 
Sun Apr 3 || Albuquerque, NM || The Co-Op 
Tues Apr 5 || Omaha, NE || Slowdown 
Wed Apr 6 || Minneapolis, MN || 7th St Entry 
Thurs Apr 7 || Madison, WI || UW Student Union 
Fri Apr 8 || Grinnell, IA || Grinnell College - Gardner Lounge 
Sat Apr 9 || Chicago, IL || Bottom Lounge 
Sun Apr 10 || Detroit, MI || Majestic Café 
Mon Apr 11 || Toronto, ON || Horseshoe Tavern 
Tues Apr 12 || Boston, MA || Middle East Downstairs 
Wed Apr 13 || Brooklyn, NY || Music Hall of Williamsburg 
Thurs Apr 14 || Philadelphia, PA || Union Transfer 
Fri Apr 15 || New York, NY || Bowery Ballroom